Three Jews, Two Israelis, One Nobel Prize

Left to right: Levitt, Rarshel and Karplus.

(DEBKA) American-Israeli professors Arieh Rarshel and Michael Levitt, and their Jewish American colleague Prof. Martin Karplus, were awarded the Nobel Prize for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems, at a ceremony today in Stockholm, Sweden.

Each of the three received a prize of $1 million.

More after the jump.
The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) received the Nobel Peace Prize. The Prize was accepted by OPWC Director Ahmet Üzümcü.

The Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Alice Munro, 82, who was described as the “master of the contemporary short story.” Her daughter Jenny picked up the prize on her behalf.


Leave a Reply